Formless Realms

Formless Realms

The higher jhanas (jhanas 5–8). Also known as the arupajhanas (“formless meditations”).

In these jhanas concentration has moved beyond the object into subtler strata of awareness surrounding the object. They are:

  • fifth jhana: infinite space
  • sixth jhana: infinite consciousness
  • seventh jhana: infinite nothingness
  • eighth jhana: neither perception nor non-perception
Need help with your meditation? Book a Skype coaching session →


formless realms