The Three Characteristics

The Three Characteristics (a.k.a. The Three Marks of Existence) may refer to the three ultimate aspects of reality, namely impermanence, suffering, and no-self or emptiness.

It may also refer to the insight stage of The Three Characteristics, see MCTB 3. The Three Characteristics, depending on context.

The Three Characteristics are universal aspects of reality, meaning that all sensate phenomena manifest them. Perceiving the Three Characteristics of sensations leads to progress along The Progress of Insight.


Did you like this article? Subscribe to my newsletter

* indicates required
Third-party mailings opt-in


The Three Marks of Existence